My Journey Takes A New Turn


I started this blog in 2011, expecting my second son and having discovered a new hobby. I called it a journey in photography and it continues to be. Initially it was the journey of discovering there was more to photos than point and click, then I looked closer at composition. I photographed everything. I discovered I loved macro photography for the ability to turn anything into an abstract artwork

2014 09 22 MACROLILY001

and I also discovered portrait photography through my main subject, my kids. I got my first DSLR and learned how to use it. I naively assumed that a better camera would mean better photos, but until I learned how to manipulate it I found it meant the opposite. Then I started to notice the flaws in photos and started my obsession with the light. I love photography. I love portraits. My kids will grow up. I am looking for a career. I would love to do this, but I don’t love mediocrity. I don’t love poorly executed ideas. I don’t love photos where the photographer doesn’t SEE the product.  I am 95% sure I will give it a go. So my journey continues down a new path.

First port of call. Getting some idea of the basics. Posing people flatteringly is surprisingly hard. My friends are about to be photographed to death until I get good at it.

Here is a friend of mine who popped in for a cuppa and wasn’t expecting this.

2014 09 20 MCMI002

I appreciate your thoughts and feedback.