My first ever portrait session!


I thought I would share with you a few photos from my first ever portrait session with someone other than my kids! It was part of my photography class. This is a friend of mine who was kind enough to donate her time and sit in front of bright lights and 15people with cameras for 2 hours in return for a few photos and eternal gratitude!! Thanks J.

I love the expression on this one, but its not as sharp as I’d like up very close and I am not 100% sure about the angle. I left her arm in to explain how it was possible. I thought it might bother me otherwise? I will continue to think about it.
Another one I love for the expression that wasn’t sharp! Damn it.

I am happy with my first effort. Luckily she has said she doesn’t mind me practising on her again sometime. I am enjoying my journey.

 

 

6 thoughts on “My first ever portrait session!”

  1. The shots where she has a big smile are my favorite….you captured her mood and a facet of her personality:-) Portraits are something I’m a little scared of trying…I don’t know why….but I love what you have caught.

    1. Thanks for the feedback! 🙂 I just tried to focus on her eyes. I wanted to convey a feeling of intimacy between her and the camera where she wasn’t smiling. I think it was a good start, hopefully I can be a bit more creative in the future as I get better. I reckon just give it a go. What have you got to loose? Goodluck! Look forward to seeing the results if you decide to share them 🙂

I appreciate your thoughts and feedback.

