Composition, point 2: drawing attention


Today is a very rainy, bleak day in my part of the world. I took this earlier after buying E an umbrella. Of course he wanted to go and stand in the rain. The Mum in me wanted to say no it’s too cold and wet, you will catch a cold etc, etc, but I remember how exciting it was under an umbrella in the rain as a child and so I said OK. I had researched the other day about framing in photography because I didn’t feel like I understood it. That was probably because I had read the concept name and no explanation?! So when I took this I felt like it did what is was supposed to do. The yellow umbrella helps to draw the eye to the subject (E) and is balanced out by the yellow stool at the bottom. I suspect otherwise all you would see would be the umbrella. The green plants frame and lead the eye back. I think the blue boots are balanced by the blue tones in the fence behind. I am happy enought that I understand the concept.

I am moving on to number 3.

E loves his yellow umbrella and I love the lesson it taught me about framing

I just noticed this too. I like it. Not sure how it will turn out, it has been heavily cropped from an iPhone image?!

20120621-144028.jpg

Point 3 is Simplify. Simple is best. Remove anything that doesn’t help you tell the story. I have added this here because as it happens the above image is a good example. I cropped out the rest to simplify it because it looked better that way. Here is the original.

20120621-162514.jpg

I appreciate your thoughts and feedback.