Are all photographers like the Terminator??


An interesting side effect of developing an interest in photography has been my inability to look at the world normally anymore! Driving along the road the other day I kept seeing composition possibilities and colour combinations. I found myself wanting to stop every 2 minutes to take another photo. My mind flashed to the scene in Terminator where Arnie walks into the bar looking for clothing and his eye scan thing ran through mass amounts of data as his eye passed over every object in the room. I found it really distracting and a bit of a sensory overload. I think I am going to have to limit thinking in this way to times when I am specifically out to take photgraphs. It made me wonder if all photographers are walking around with a Terminator in their head?

10 thoughts on “Are all photographers like the Terminator??”

  1. I have to agree with you. I don’t think I can go anywhere without thinking those exact same thoughts. On the other hand, maybe we see the world differently than “non photographers”? 🙂

  2. You get used to it. I always carry my camera with me. But those rare chances I can’t, I always think “There is a shot right there”. At first its disheartening but then you realize there’ll be plenty of more opportunities like it. The other day I put my 300mm 2.8 back in my car after doing wildlife for a while and changed it out for my tripod and wide angle lens for night landscape (too heavy to carry both). And of course that was when I stumbled across the perfect deer in a perfect location. Dropped the tripod and sprinted back to my car but of course it was gone hahaha. Oh well, I continue to hunt for that deer. As is photography.

  3. I don’t know about having a Terminator in my head, although it is a good analogy. Give in to how you see the world as a photographer and you will understand beauty beyond compare!

I appreciate your thoughts and feedback.

